Haier HLP21N Pulsator 1-Cubic-Foot Portable Washer

This fits your .
Enter your model number to make sure this fits.
P.when(“ReplacementPartsBulletLoader”).execute(function(module){ module.initializeDPX(); }) Portable washer with 1-cubic-foot stainless-steel tub for loads up to 6 pounds
3 water levels and 3 wash cycles; electronic controls with LED indicators
Quiet operation; cycle-status lights; end-of-cycle signal; adjustable leveling leg
Smooth-rolling casters; easy-installation kit with quick-connect sink adapter included
Measures approximately 17-1/4 by 17-3/5 by 30 inches

› See more product details

Buy on Amazon

SKU: B002UYSHMM Categories: , Tags: ,

Description

The portable and compact 1.0 cu. ft. washer has 3 electric controlled water levels and 3 wash cycles for the perfect load every time. The stainless steel tub holds up to 6 pounds of clothes, which is perfect for baby clothes, delicates or a smaller wash. The quick connect sink adaptor is easy and included with your installation kit. When you’re all done, just roll the washer away into a closet with included casters.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Haier HLP21N Pulsator 1-Cubic-Foot Portable Washer”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

23 Reviews from Amazon


  1. 5 out of 5

    the sounds of this washer. |
    0

    0:000:00This video is not intended for all audiences. What date were you born?JanuaryFebruaryMarchAprilMayJuneJulyAugustSeptemberOctoberNovemberDecember12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728293031201620152014201320122011201020092008200720062005200420032002200120001999199819971996199519941993199219911990198919881987198619851984198319821981198019791978197719761975197419731972197119701969196819671966196519641963196219611960195919581957195619551954195319521951195019491948194719461945194419431942194119401939193819371936193519341933193219311930192919281927192619251924192319221921192019191918191719161915191419131912191119101909190819071906190519041903190219011900SubmitAdobe Flash Player is required to watch this video.Install Flash PlayerI haven't had any leak problems. The strange noise I was hearing puzzled me. I also envy anybody who can buy this machine straight through Amazon. you lucky ducks you ;-) I had to pay forty dollars for shipping. Please let me know if you do hear strange noises. I am curious as to how many people get coins stuck inside the drum. It actually took me a while to figure out where the noise was coming from and took the bottom and back panel off, but the noise still continued. I'm not sure how the quarter became stuck in there, and still baffles me to this day. Please keep me updated with any concerns regarding noises. Hopefully, other owners or myself can help. As far as the effectiveness of the machine, 5 stars says it all. To note, this washer machine doesn't have a drum spindle (not sure what you call the part that takes up space in most washers), so you can actually fit many more articles or clothing and/or towels inside. Please let me know if this review was helpful. Update 9/2/2012: Thanks for all the helpful votes. The washer machine is still running strong. Remember if you hear a strange noise, unscrew the screw in the washer basket, and you'll probably find a coin. I still highly recommend this washer. Update 12/22/2013: The washer spin motor has been spinning slowly for the second consecutive week. I've looked online for the same washer machine, and am having it shipped right after the new year. I have read that you can order the spin motor for less than 100 dollars, but the washer is now 4 years old, and has other 4 year old parts. So far, I've seen the best price from Walmart for about 219.00 and shipping for 2.99.
  2. 3 out of 5

    Terrific little washer! |
    0

    I recently purchased this, though not from this vendor. My living space is on the top floor and the laundry area is down 2 winding flights of stairs. Someone suggested that if I could do laundry without having it pile up, my life would be easier. So now, this is the first week I have had this installed. Admittedly, I never have overly high expectations of machinery, but I am more than happy with this. The instructions for the washer are fairly detailed. I ran into trouble over the sink hook-up, just because I did not understand standard terminology. When a friend came in to help, it took him all of 15 minutes (or less). Everything was tightened with a wrench, plus he tied the two hoses (in and out) with a fastener to position them securely. I ran the first load 5 minutes later. No leaks, in spite of what you might have read in other reviews of the same product. I am not a big person and tonight, the load (at medium, the default setting) was: 1 pair of long pants 1 flannel pajama shirt 1 cotton sweater (in a laundry bag) 1 blouse 4 pairs underwear and 4 pairs of socks (in separate mesh laundry bag) 2 T-shirts After reading many reviews, I leave it on the medium setting and don't overfill it. I also got these laundry bags to protect the clothing. The spin cycle does a good enough job so the clothes dry within 12 hours on a rack in the bathroom. It is also easy to hook and unhook from the sink, and comes with wheels that you can choose to install. I am ***very*** happy with the ease of use, convenience, portability, small footprint. January, 2012: Update: Towards the end of the warranty period, there was suddenly a spark and the whole thing went dead. In spite of what you may read elsewhere, I did reach a real person when I called the number listed on the instruction manual. A local authorized repair person was despatched who diagnosed it as the motherboard having a short. Haier was supposed to send the repair rep. a part, but I heard nothing, until a call several weeks later from Haier, saying they were going to replace the washer outright. There were things I had to do and instructions to follow, like cut the piping etc. etc., cut a label, include this and that. When this was followed to a "T", I did receive a new washer, again some weeks later. This immediately malfunctioned and water overflowed. It was a huge mess and somewhat of an emergency. Because I could not wait, I did not call the company but took care of it with my own repair guy. We switched the water level sensor (wrong part on the new one!) with the one I had saved on the old machine. Since then, it has worked beautifully. However, should this malfunction again, I may look for another brand To cut a long story short: 1. Save all documentation. 2. The product is inconsistent. Why would the new washer immediately malfunction with an INCORRECT PART? This was troubling. 3. If you are not in a hurry to get it repaired, then Haier does come through. 4. If Haier replaces the machine, save the old one for parts, if you possibly have room. It is because of these hassles and the malfunctioning that I have downgraded the 5-star to 3.
  3. 5 out of 5

    We love this machine! |
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this washer from Target through Amazon last month and I couldn't be more pleased with it. I have been reading the reviews of these the little Haier washers for several months so I was prepared for how the bottom plate works (it bulges out), for the fact that we would struggle a bit getting the screws through the plate and that we needed teflon tape and good pliers to really tighten the hose connections. We were very careful in doing all that and we have no leaks and no odd noises. The sink adapter fit my sink perfectly so I didn't have to find a replacement. All and all, the set-up was easier than I expected. As far as using it goes, the loads are larger than I thought they would be, the clothes come out very clean and well spun out so they dry quickly. The controls are easy to understand and so far everything has worked as it is supposed to. Our household has three members, myself and two teenagers and so far it is keeping up with us and sparing us the hideous laundromat problems we had before. A load might be a pair of jeans, 3 shirts and 3 pairs of socks or a sheet, 2 pillow cases and a large towel. We have even washed some blankets. If anything goes wrong or it develops major problems I'll try to remember to update here but so far I'm very satisfied.
  4. 5 out of 5

    For city dwellers (even in rentals) this washer's a MUST! |
    Verified Purchase

    I'd been looking at this washer for the past 2-3 months. I really wanted it, but, I didn't have a reason to justify it. This week, I got my reason. Doing 1 load of laundry here in NYC is (minimum) $5 - NOT including the dryer. A lot of people who live in apartment buildings have washer/dryers in their basements. People like me, who live in a brownstone/town-house DON'T. The other problem is - is it legal? A lot of landlords pooh-pooh the idea of getting washer and/or dryers in tenants apartments, because of the extra electricity drain (a lot of older buildings here don't have the greatest wiring), and the water hook-ups (the electrical costsis estimated at $14/year, based on 8 loads week.That's good for me!). After studying the reviews - particularly the one from Witzkeyman "Louie Arrighi" - a fellow NYC'er, I felt that his enthusiastic thumbs-up (and wonderful video), I would 'take the plunge.' Even though I ordered it yesterday, and they said I'd have it delivered by this Tuesday, I was VERY pleasantly surprised this morning, when FedEx rang my bell, and ... delivered it. After learning the 'do-not's' here (particularly about installing the bottom plate correctly), I had the machine up & running within 10 minutes (not to put anyone down, but, I found that the people who did gripe - about putting on the plate the wrong way, etc. - would not have had these problems...if they just read the instructions, which, yes, I hate them too, but they were very easy and fast). I'm one ecstatic apartment dweller now. This machine does what people like me need it to do; it does the day's load. The sheets from the bed. The towels & such. It's NOT a machine to give it a week's worth of laundry, and that's a blessing - to me. I don't have to collect dirty laundry all week, I can have it done, and ready for wearing the next morning. When it's spinning the clothes out (jeans are a great clothing item to judge by) at the end of the cycle, it really, REALLY gets the water out - to the point that the clothes are only slightly damp, and not soaking wet. Since it's been a really hot summer here in Manhattan, it's a perfect time to put this machine through it's paces. Every other day (color/white alternate), I'll put a load in after I've had dinner. Within about 15 minutes, the machine's finished, and I hang the clothes up to dry. By morning, they're good-to-go. As I said, the reviews here on AMAZON are always very important to me, especially when I'm not familiar with the product. Besides Witzkeyman Louie Arrighi's helpful, informative video about the Haier (by the way - the name of the company is pronounced like 'higher,' NOT like 'hair.' If you ever see a commercial of theirs - overseas - they say 'dream, think, etc. Haier'), I also found Vlad from San Francisco's review helpful. I also took note of, because, while he had difficulties, he did say that AMAZON did try to help, and I strongly agree with those words. Another reviewer (name escapes me) addressed the drying question. He said that the clothes were so slightly damp, he'd dry them on a rack or a line. Saves money, and helps prevent wear on the clothing. He was 100% spot-on. To all of you, I owe you a thanks for your advice. In conclusion - I had a Haier air conditioner at my previous address, and got a new one when I moved here (see my review on that), and having had terrific experiences with Haier, and putting them through tough work, I was doubly-sure the Haier HLP21N Pulsator...Portable Washer would also make me happy. And it has.
  5. 5 out of 5

    A great space and time-saver! |
    0

    Our apartment doesn't have the room, or the plumbing for a standard clothes washer, so we were delighted to find this compact little unit that could be rolled out when needed, and put back in the closet and out of the way when it's not. SETUP IS EASY! Setting it up after purchase literally takes just a couple of minutes. You just screw on a base plate, add the caster wheels, stick on the hose and tap connector, and you're ready to go! You don't need to be handy to handle this machine at all. HOW BIG IS THE TUB INSIDE? DOES IT CLEAN WELL? I was unsure how well such a small machine would clean, but I was really surprised at what a good job it does. Don't be fooled by how small, or how simple it looks. It may not appear to be doing much during the wash and rinse cycles, but it really is. Clothes come out great! It has a plate in the bottom of the tub that twists and spins rather than a centre agitator like many machines, so it is much gentler on clothes. You can also fit more clothes in it than in a machine with a centre agitator. It seems tiny, but it can wash a queen-size flat sheet, a fitted sheet and two pillow cases at the same time easily. I wash queen-size polar fleece blankets in the machine with no problems. Recently I washed a puffy fuzzy bath mat with a rubber backing and found the machine did a great job. The last bath mat I tried to wash in a machine with a centre agitator ripped the rubber off the back of the mat in tiny pieces (what a mess to clean up in the washer!), but this machine is gentle enough to leave the rubber intact while thoroughly cleaning it. Needless to say I was very impressed. DETERGENTS, FABRIC SOFTENERS, ETC. You can also use any detergent you wish, though low-sudsing is best. Tide Pods are super in this little machine, but liquid and powder cleaning agents also work well. Crystal or bead scent products such as Downy Unstoppables are also safe to use in this machine. Fabric softeners can be put into something like a Downy Ball, as there is no automatic fabric softener dispenser, or you can add fabric softener during the rinse cycle yourself. IS IT NOISY? DOES THE SPIN CYCLE WORK WELL? The washer is very quiet during the wash and rinse cycles, but can be a bit more noisy during the spin cycle. No worries though - the spin cycle is short and very effective. There are no clanks or bangs, just more of a loud whirring sound for a minute or two. The spin cycle on this little machine is amazing! Clothes are powerfully spun and can either be hung to dry (without any fear of water dripping out of them, as they're alreay half dry), or placed in a dryer with absolutely no additional wringing needed. It's every bit as good as a full-size washing machine. IT'S STURDY! This machine is quite sturdy and doesn't move around when in use. It's on caster wheels that have little "brakes" on them if needed, but we've never applied the brakes and use ours on smooth lino where it stays put on its own. The only time it seems to have ever moved was during a spin cycle where the clothes in the tub became off-balance. It moved about an inch, and then beeped at me to open the machine and rebalance the load before continuing its cycle. HOW DOES IT COMPARE TO A "TWIN TUB" WASHER? Before buying this washer I looked at a twin tub portable version from another company. It was cheaper, but clothes are washed in one tub and have to be manually moved over to the other tub for spinning. A special piece of plastic is put on top of it all and set to spin. Having to move the clothes over was an extra step I thought unnecessary and a time-waster. I wanted a machine I could put my clothes into and walk away, knowing it was doing all the washing, rinsing and spinning on its own. It's well worth the few extra dollars for a single-tub machine. I also prefer the electronic controls on this washer over the manual dials that many of the twin-tub machines have. IT IS GOING TO FIT IN MY KITCHEN OR BATHROOM? The compact size of this washer is wonderful. We have a galley kitchen with less than a 3.5 foot pathway between both sides. This machine sits nicely in front of the kitchen sink and still has plenty of room to get past it, so you can go about your business in the kitchen and wash clothes at the same time. GREAT FOR YOUR OWN USE OR AS A GIFT TO A NEWLYWED COUPLE OR NEW MOM OR DAD I highly recommend this portable washer, as it's good value for the price, and fits into our little apartment with ease. They also make good wedding and baby gifts to those like us who have limited space and/or can't hook up full-size appliances. This washer would also be good for a cabin, RV, or college dorm. We bought the Haier HLP140E 2-3/5-Cubic-Foot Compact Tumble Vented Dryer to go with this washer and love it too! (Please note that I did not purchase my machine through Amazon as a big-box home improvement store was offering free delivery on this product at the time of purchase, however I would be very confident purchasing through Amazon and feel the delivery cost is actually worth the price for this great product.)
  6. 5 out of 5

    A month and countless loads later, absolutely no regrets! |
    0

    April 2016: Finally, after almost six years of HEAVY use, my little washing machine died. Specifically, the pump that drains the water went kaput. I did some quick and dirty math and, by my estimate, I've done over 1,500 loads on this Haier over the past six years. That comes out to a little more than a dime per load (I paid $200 total for it way back then). Really, this is one of the best purchases I've ever made. I'm going to give the machine to someone handy who will try replacing the pump. I myself will experiment with a smaller and easier-to-hide Panda washer, but if that doesn't work out I will not hesitate to buy this machine again. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ May 2015: Coming up on year 5 and still serving us well. There were a few cycles about 6 months ago when the machine seemed to be vibrating more than it should but that seems to have worked itself out because I haven't heard it again since (knock on wood!). ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ June 2014: Another year has passed and it's still going strong! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ June 2013: Coming up on three years and still chugging along faithfully! No leaks or funny noises at all. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ September 2012: Over two years later, I'm back to report that this great little machine is still going strong. I do 6 to 8 loads a week, to give an idea of volume. Tip: The machine is so quiet that I was often missing the rinse cycle and not getting my fabric softener in on time, until I FINALLY thought to set a timer...now I get my Suavitel or Ensueño in like clockwork! FYI, for the quick wash, set your timer to 10 minutes to add your softener as the rinse water comes in, then almost exactly 12 minutes later your load will be done. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ July 2011: I'm updating this review a year after my purchase to report that the machine is still working like a champ! Still one of the best buys I've ever made. Also, I eventually figured out that I wasn't screwing the attachment onto my faucet firmly enough...no more spraying. Don't hesitate! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ I purchased this machine from another vendor, so I can't speak to any shipping issues. I can, however, say that this is one of the best purchases I've ever made. The convenience of having in-home laundry more than makes up for a few little idiocyncracies. The machine has a small footprint, but washes a surprising amount of clothing. Basically, a full load in the Haier resembles a third of a load in a standard home washer. Not bad for an appliance that you can roll into your closet. Tip: Be sure you know precisely where you're going to put your machine before attaching the bottom plate, because that's your opportunity to re-route the drain hose from the left to the right side of the machine. I missed this step and have procrastinated taking the bottom plate back off to reroute the hose because it was such a pain to get the plate on there in the first place. Speaking of which, don't be surprised if only 5 of the 6 screws for the bottom plate line up in the holes on the body of the machine. Tip: Rather than fight with something to weigh down the drain hose (because the doohickey to clip it over the edge of the sink is ridiculously narrow and totally useless), just tie it to the water intake hose once the machine is in place next to the sink. I keep a length of twine with the machine just for that purpose. That's more than enough to keep the hose from slipping out of the sink from the force of the ejected water. Tip: The instructions for connecting the hose to the faucet adapter are really hard to understand. Look for the plastic ring near the little ball bearings (you'll know it when you see it); that ring moves down to retract the ball bearings so that you can clip the hose to the faucet adapter. Tip: No matter how tightly you screw the faucet adapter on, you will have spraying. I drape a paper towel over the faucet to control the spray. I also turn the water almost completely off after the tank fills; if you leave the faucet open just a tad, you'll hear a noise alerting you when the machine tries to refill the tank for the rinse cycle so that you can turn the water back up and add your fabric softener. Then turn it back off after it refills so that you don't have to worry about spraying again for the rest of the cycle. Tip: The preceding tip is based on the quick wash cycle. I use that for pretty much EVERYTHING. The heavy wash is not worth all the extra water and time...it's a maddeningly long cycle. Quick wash is the way to go. Fast and thorough. In summary, this is a quiet, fast, efficient little machine and, assuming I can get a few years out of it, worth every penny. It's not an exaggeration to say that I've probably done about 60 loads in the past month, so it's on its way to paying for itself already. Highly recommended!
  7. 5 out of 5

    Everything I needed and expected for the price!!! |
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this little washer over two months of tedious internet research. I needed a washing machine for my small two bedroom apartment and to do my sons' laundry and my own. There are many portable washing machines out there that are larger or smaller with varying functions and prices, however this machine seemed to fit my needs the best and it was the cheapest!. I just needed a small machine that would wash a reasonable amount of clothes with little to no hassle. I had read some of the other feedback about the machines noisyness, leakness, and hasslesome bottom plate, and extremely small basket and here is what I found.... I ordered the machine and had it within 7 days, I found that reasonable as i did not pay for shipping, it was also delivered with no damage to the machine or the box, I had it shipped fedex so i was able to track it daily. The machine was very easy to put together out of the box, all I required was a phillips head screw driver. The bottom plate was hasslesome to install but I got it on, after that the rest was cake, I had it up and running within 22 minutes total. I did a quick wash cycle and the machine ran smooth and strong, adding and draining water as nessacary. I didn't find the machine to be any noisier than any other washing appliance, the machine did rattle slightly durring the spin cycle but I have an area rug underneath it so it was neither noisy or disturbing to me. I experienced no leaks durring this cycle. the clothes came out clean and wrung out, I was actually very impressed. The basket size is actually larger than it may seem, I was able to fit into the machine about 3/4 of a standard wash!!!!! All in all for the price and expectation I gave this machine 5 stars because it does what it say it will do, I have not experienced any hassles with it as of yet and actually I am more than pleased with the machine. I now look forward to never going to the laundry mat again or piled up laundry. I can see in the future having to go to the laundry mat once a month or two months for haevy blankets and rugs but all in all this little machine has handled my washes fine, to include sheets, light weight blankets, and jeans!!! Just distribute the loads carefully, remember one light weight blanket may mean one wash!!! I am very pleased with this machine!!!! If you would like to see some pictures of it hooked up to the sink so you can get some perspective on it check out my face book page...jaime billiel in charlestown nh............... UPDATE 2015 Hello all as of my last review I may have told you that I moved and gave my machine to my sister whom till this day FIVE YEARS LATER is still using the little machine :)...... Since then I moved to an apt and purchased a full size set, I met a man and we moved in together to a place with no hook ups so geuss what..... I PURCHASED ANOTHER ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND USED It for TWO MORE YEARS!!!!!!! Then I bought my very OWN HOUSE with a full size pair (still with my man). And I still HAVE that little machine! LOL I have an elderly woman who wants to buy it but I dont know if she will follow through or not. The point of my update, two machines, five years, no problems, still going strong. I may just keep the mini machine if the lady doesnt come to get it for back up, or sell it in a yard sale!!!!!!!!
  8. 5 out of 5

    Shut up and spend your money! |
    0

    I purchased this washer as a last resort before I went bonkers with trying to jockey for position in the apartment laundry room (there is one woman here who does at least 10 loads of laundry DAILY..!) Since I have had this wonderful machine for the past year, I have been able to keep up with all the laundry, and still enjoy my life! One secret to using this that I learned is to turn off the water after the wash water has all flowed in; that way, if you want to put in fabric softener, but you don't want to hang out over the machine, it will make a beeping sound when it needs more water for the rinse cycle and will not continue until you turn the water back on! Otherwise, you can time about 15 minutes for the wash cycle, keep the water on, and hope you don't get involved in anything more important. Another tip: I hang my clothes to dry, and I have discovered that it is helpful for faster drying to spin dry the clothes twice. Yet another tip: TURN OFF THE FREAKING WATER BEFORE YOU REMOVE THE WATER HOSE FROM THE SINK SPOUT. Yeah, we have learned the hard way. Make sure to turn it off and NOT remove the hose for a little bit, then place a towel over the connection as you remove it if you really don't want to take a shower at that moment. And, finally, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE DRAIN HOSE IN THE SINK AND FIRMLY DOWN THE DRAIN PIPE. Unless, of course, you want to wash your floors that day. I LOVE this washer and am very pleased with my purchase. It has improved the quality of my life considerably!
  9. 1 out of 5

    First Use-''doesn't work |
    Verified Purchase

    First time using: Water level sensor does not work, over flows. Wash cycle does not work, rinse cycle does not work, spin cycle works beautifully, but water flows out of holes in back of machine and from under bottom. Clean floor, pile of wet towells. Called cust. service twice so far. Disconnected twice. Will update review as progresses. Haier service man out in 1.5 days.after reached them. Needs water level sensor..two weeks To get...Have full washer of water to empty.. decided best return it because he said nothig about the fact would not wash, just flashed red lights fast and still leaked. Contacted Amazon..had new washer in 3 days. While packing up bad washer to send back, got call from Haier service..going to be not two weeks for part but one to two months. Haier zip...Amazon 5 star New washer working beautifully. Have on permanent connection. Don't know when you are going to get a bad product, but if going to get one , rather get it from Amazon because they take care of you. They make it right.
  10. 1 out of 5

    Two units - the smae problem with water level sensor |
    Verified Purchase

    Bought first unit: water sensor broken and doesn't detect water level. As results..dozen of towels on the floor to collect water. Requested replacement. Received replacement, and the same story. Nightmare. Customer support - totally useless. Second unit going to be returned and No more Haier brand for me.
  11. 4 out of 5

    the washer is doing great so far |

    It is 5:52 pm i received my washer (HLP21N) around 4 pm. I have wash 2 quick loads with no trouble. I had a bit of noise washing two pairs of my husbands jeans. But, the are large jeans and i didnt put the back wheels on so it was unstable. Once i paused the laod and leveled it correctly, no more noise. Other than that, which was my fault, the washer is doing great so far. There were no leaks either. I told my husband this is one of the best investments we've had. Hope i do not have to take it back. TIP: put all wheels on the bottom, make sure to tighten the connections and you shouldnt have any issues. I will come back and update after a while to see the longevity of the little washer or if any problems arise. UPDATE: Day 8 and the washer is doing great. No leaks or any other issues. I do wash heavy loads but i dont over load it. Its been off balance 2-3 times but nothing bad. For a family of two adults, an infant, and a toddler, its perfect. I've only had to do an extra spin once for a load of towels and pants just so they would dry faster. Our clothes are usually all dry by the end of the day. I use fabric softener on the rinse cycle so my clothes dont dry stiff. Will come back for another update :) UPDATE: Its now been 2 months. The washer is still do great. No problems at all. I still stand by my 5 star rating!
  12. 4 out of 5

    A great space and time-saver! |

    Our apartment doesn't have the room, or the plumbing for a standard clothes washer, so we were delighted to find this compact little unit that could be rolled out when needed, and put back in the closet and out of the way when it's not. SETUP IS EASY! Setting it up after purchase literally takes just a couple of minutes. You just screw on a base plate, add the caster wheels, stick on the hose and tap connector, and you're ready to go! You don't need to be handy to handle this machine at all. HOW BIG IS THE TUB INSIDE? DOES IT CLEAN WELL? I was unsure how well such a small machine would clean, but I was really surprised at what a good job it does. Don't be fooled by how small, or how simple it looks. It may not appear to be doing much during the wash and rinse cycles, but it really is. Clothes come out great! It has a plate in the bottom of the tub that twists and spins rather than a centre agitator like many machines, so it is much gentler on clothes. You can also fit more clothes in it than in a machine with a centre agitator. It seems tiny, but it can wash a queen-size flat sheet, a fitted sheet and two pillow cases at the same time easily. I wash queen-size polar fleece blankets in the machine with no problems. Recently I washed a puffy fuzzy bath mat with a rubber backing and found the machine did a great job. The last bath mat I tried to wash in a machine with a centre agitator ripped the rubber off the back of the mat in tiny pieces (what a mess to clean up in the washer!), but this machine is gentle enough to leave the rubber intact while thoroughly cleaning it. Needless to say I was very impressed. DETERGENTS, FABRIC SOFTENERS, ETC. You can also use any detergent you wish, though low-sudsing is best. Tide Pods are super in this little machine, but liquid and powder cleaning agents also work well. Crystal or bead scent products such as Downy Unstoppables are also safe to use in this machine. Fabric softeners can be put into something like a Downy Ball, as there is no automatic fabric softener dispenser, or you can add fabric softener during the rinse cycle yourself. IS IT NOISY? DOES THE SPIN CYCLE WORK WELL? The washer is very quiet during the wash and rinse cycles, but can be a bit more noisy during the spin cycle. No worries though - the spin cycle is short and very effective. There are no clanks or bangs, just more of a loud whirring sound for a minute or two. The spin cycle on this little machine is amazing! Clothes are powerfully spun and can either be hung to dry (without any fear of water dripping out of them, as they're alreay half dry), or placed in a dryer with absolutely no additional wringing needed. It's every bit as good as a full-size washing machine. IT'S STURDY! This machine is quite sturdy and doesn't move around when in use. It's on caster wheels that have little "brakes" on them if needed, but we've never applied the brakes and use ours on smooth lino where it stays put on its own. The only time it seems to have ever moved was during a spin cycle where the clothes in the tub became off-balance. It moved about an inch, and then beeped at me to open the machine and rebalance the load before continuing its cycle. HOW DOES IT COMPARE TO A "TWIN TUB" WASHER? Before buying this washer I looked at a twin tub portable version from another company. It was cheaper, but clothes are washed in one tub and have to be manually moved over to the other tub for spinning. A special piece of plastic is put on top of it all and set to spin. Having to move the clothes over was an extra step I thought unnecessary and a time-waster. I wanted a machine I could put my clothes into and walk away, knowing it was doing all the washing, rinsing and spinning on its own. It's well worth the few extra dollars for a single-tub machine. I also prefer the electronic controls on this washer over the manual dials that many of the twin-tub machines have. IT IS GOING TO FIT IN MY KITCHEN OR BATHROOM? The compact size of this washer is wonderful. We have a galley kitchen with less than a 3.5 foot pathway between both sides. This machine sits nicely in front of the kitchen sink and still has plenty of room to get past it, so you can go about your business in the kitchen and wash clothes at the same time. GREAT FOR YOUR OWN USE OR AS A GIFT TO A NEWLYWED COUPLE OR NEW MOM OR DAD I highly recommend this portable washer, as it's good value for the price, and fits into our little apartment with ease. They also make good wedding and baby gifts to those like us who have limited space and/or can't hook up full-size appliances. This washer would also be good for a cabin, RV, or college dorm. We bought the Haier HLP140E 2-3/5-Cubic-Foot Compact Tumble Vented Dryer to go with this washer and love it too! (Please note that I did not purchase my machine through Amazon as a big-box home improvement store was offering free delivery on this product at the time of purchase, however I would be very confident purchasing through Amazon and feel the delivery cost is actually worth the price for this great product.)
  13. 4 out of 5

    Shut up and spend your money! |

    I purchased this washer as a last resort before I went bonkers with trying to jockey for position in the apartment laundry room (there is one woman here who does at least 10 loads of laundry DAILY..!) Since I have had this wonderful machine for the past year, I have been able to keep up with all the laundry, and still enjoy my life! One secret to using this that I learned is to turn off the water after the wash water has all flowed in; that way, if you want to put in fabric softener, but you don't want to hang out over the machine, it will make a beeping sound when it needs more water for the rinse cycle and will not continue until you turn the water back on! Otherwise, you can time about 15 minutes for the wash cycle, keep the water on, and hope you don't get involved in anything more important. Another tip: I hang my clothes to dry, and I have discovered that it is helpful for faster drying to spin dry the clothes twice. Yet another tip: TURN OFF THE FREAKING WATER BEFORE YOU REMOVE THE WATER HOSE FROM THE SINK SPOUT. Yeah, we have learned the hard way. Make sure to turn it off and NOT remove the hose for a little bit, then place a towel over the connection as you remove it if you really don't want to take a shower at that moment. And, finally, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE DRAIN HOSE IN THE SINK AND FIRMLY DOWN THE DRAIN PIPE. Unless, of course, you want to wash your floors that day. I LOVE this washer and am very pleased with my purchase. It has improved the quality of my life considerably!
  14. 4 out of 5

    This is probably the best compact washing machine you can find on the market |

    This is probably the best compact washing machine you can find on the market. We had one for 4 years and it worked without a problem. We gave it to some one else when we moved.
  15. 4 out of 5

    Get it! Small apartment wonder. |

    I had a roommate that moved in with one of these units. The washer was a few years old and was bought used but was still tough as nails.
  16. 4 out of 5

    Pays for itself in less than two months - for me anyway. |

    This little gem works like a full-size washer except it hooks up to my kitchen sink in a snap. My clothes come out extremely clean and nearly dry.
  17. 4 out of 5

    this washer is absolutely amazing compared with other expensive big guys |

    The washer is not a very big one but it is enough for three people's laundry. With a cheap cost and high quality, this washer is absolutely amazing compared with other expensive...
  18. 4 out of 5

    Awesome little washer that could!! |

    I did not purchase this item through Amazon, but I did use Amazon for research before buying this item at another online retailer for a lesser price.
  19. 4 out of 5

    Very pleased with the unit, though could use better wheels and spinning |

    Quite possibly one of my favorite purchases. It's not perfect, but it does the job very well. Pro: quality construction; wheels for rolling; washes clothes reasonably...
  20. 4 out of 5

    Four Stars |

    Easy to install and use.
  21. 4 out of 5

    This washer is great! |

    Love this washer! It's everything I was hoping for: small, quiet, uses very little water and detergent, and very easy to use.
  22. 4 out of 5

    2 hoses = 5 stars |

    Excellent :) If it had separate hose attachments for hot or cold, I'd give 5 stars. The thin plastic isn't made to be un/re-attached constantly & will break soon.
  23. 4 out of 5

    ... Amazon for a long time and they have never disappointed me! I absolutely love this portable washer |

    I been shopping on Amazon for a long time and they have never disappointed me! I absolutely love this portable washer!